SeasonGet TicketsOur VenuesEducationSupport Us
The Seagull by Anton Chekhov
The Seagull

The Publick Theatre at Christian Herter Park
July 3-September 7

Preview Week Performances July 3-6

Performed in Repertory with Hay Fever

"...The cadences reflect the juxtaposition of passion and randomness one associates with Chekhov... the staging ably balances the play's angst and absurdity, making one wonder, once again, whether it wasn't really Chekhov who invented the human..." --The Phoenix

"...Arciniegas sees to it that everyone on the stage is engaged in the scene... Employing his own new American English conversational style translation... [he] succeeds in making the play both understandable and accessible..." Broadwayworld.com

Anton Chekhov’s classic emerges, in the premiere of an original translation by Diego Arciniegas, as a timely, complex and dark comedy, wrapped tightly within tendons of unrequited love, irony, jealousy, regret and artistic ambition.

Watch The Seagull Trailer
(Requires QuickTime)

Running time: 2 Hours, 15 minutes (including 1 intermission)


On a fading country estate in rural Russia, a mix of celebrated artists, their family and servants weigh their lives. Some hope to defy the obstacles between reality and their dreams, while the others seek comfort by consigning themselves to the inevitable. A delicate balance of levity and drama reveals a surprising kinship to more contemporary dark comedies of stage and screen, demonstrating Chekhov’s ability to transcend time, place and layers of historic interpretation.


Director - Diego Arciniegas*
Set Design - Dahlia Al-Habieli
Costume Design - Rafael Jaen**
Sound Design - John Doerschuk
Lighting Design - Caleb Magoon
Production Stage Manager - Nerys Powell*

Sorin - Dafydd Rees
Arkadina - Susanne Nitter*
Constantine - Tyler Reilly
Nina - Hannah Wilson*
Trigorin - Robert Serrell*
Paulina - Debera Lund*
Dorn - Joel Colodner*
Shamraev - Dennis Trainor
Yakov - Ross MacDonald*
Masha - Lynn Guerra
Medvedenko - Anthony Cascio

* Member, Actors Equity
** Member, United Scenic Artists